# WEST VIRGINIA LEGISLATURE 2021 THIRD EXTRAORDINARY SESSION

## **Originating**

## **Senate Bill 3033**

By Senators Swope, Sypolt, Tarr, Weld, and Woelfel

[Originating in the Select Committee on Redistricting; reported on October 11, 2021]

- 1 A BILL to amend and reenact §1-2-3 of the Code of West Virginia, 1931, as amended, relating to
- 2 the composition of congressional districts; and providing for congressional districts.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of West Virginia:

### ARTICLE 2. APPORTIONMENT OF REPRESENTATION.

### §1-2-3. Congressional districts.

- 1 The number of members to which the state is entitled in the House of Representatives of
- 2 the Congress of the United States are apportioned among the counties of the state, arranged into
- 3 three two congressional districts, numbered as follows:
- 4 First District: Barbour, <u>Berkeley</u>, Brooke, Doddridge, <u>Hampshire</u>, Grant, Hancock,
- 5 Hardy, Harrison, Jefferson, Lewis, Marion, Marshall, Mineral, Monongalia, Morgan, Ohio,
- 6 Pendleton, Pleasants, Preston, Randolph, Ritchie, Taylor, Tucker, Tyler, Upshur, Wetzel, and
- 7 Wood.
- 8 Second District: Berkeley, Boone, Braxton, Cabell, Calhoun, Clay, Hampshire, Hardy,
- 9 Fayette, Gilmer, Greenbrier, Jackson, Jefferson, Kanawha, Lewis, Morgan, Pendleton, Lincoln,
- 10 Logan, Mason, McDowell, Mercer, Mingo, Monroe, Nicholas, Pocahontas, Putnam, Randolph,
- 11 Raleigh, Ritchie, Roane, <del>Upshur</del> Summers, Wayne, Webster, <del>and</del> Wirt, and Wyoming.
- 12 Third District: Boone, Cabell, Fayette, Greenbrier, Lincoln, Logan, Mason, McDowell,
- 13 Mercer, Mingo, Monroe, Nicholas, Pocahontas, Raleigh, Summers, Wayne, Webster and
- 14 Wyoming.

NOTE: The purpose of this bill is to delineate the congressional districts following the federal decennial census of 2020.

Strike-throughs indicate language that would be stricken from a heading or the present law and underscoring indicates new language that would be added.